March 2020 - IEHJA News
Written by by Patti Schooley
Monday, 02 March 2020 18:56
PDF Print E-mail

association news

IEHJA honors champions and medal winners.

by Patti Schooley

On Sunday, February 16, the Inland Empire Hunter Jumper Association held its annual awards banquet at the Santa Anita Park. Attendees enjoyed brunch, awards presentation and a day at the races, all hosted by Ann Lorkowski, DVM.


IEHJA members, their family and friends cheered enthusiastically as awards were presented to both champion and reserve in the hunter, equitation and jumper divisions with ribbons to sixth place. Champions received monogramed barn jackets while reserve won vests. New this year were the IEHJA monogramed knit scarfs awarded to the third-place finishers. All received striking multi strand ribbons appropriate to their placement.

IEHJA Medal Final winners were acknowledged having received their coolers and medal sashes at the IEHJA year-end championship show. Medal Year End High Point winners were awarded bridles and embroidered saddle pads for champion and reserve placement. IEHJA trainers were also recognized for their riders’ medal finals and year-end high point medal standings receiving gorgeous pictures frames. USHJA Outreach Awards at the gold and silver level were also presented with Sam Tate winning three silver and one gold. Way to go Sam!

The winners of the Showdown Perpetual Trophy and the IEHJA Scholarship were also recognized.

IEHJA thanks its current sponsors for their support of the annual awards banquet, year-end championship show and its many other activities. Paradise Electric Scooters provided the grand prize for our famous “ride, scoot and bounce” event at the 2019 year-end show. Banquet and additional show prizes were provided by Cavalor Feed and Supplements, Finish Line Horse Products, Hay Connection, Inland Valley Pet Supply, Kahoots Feed and Pet Supply, all located in Norco, Anaheim Equestrian Center Rancho del Rio, artwork by Cami Jo and gift creations by Sophie. A Special thanks to California Riding Magazine, the official print sponsor of IEHJA.

View additional awards banquet photos at Also check out our 2020 show calendar at the same website.


.75 low ch & AA jumper division R-L Champion Briannah Mcgee, reserve Masha Tafoya and Campbell Lear.

Autum Perez accepting her fourth place ribbon in the walk trot division.

Baby Green champion Hunter Franklin with third place winner Toni Henderson and fourth place Joyce Noel place ribbon in the walk trot division.

Jennifer Hallett, Emma Bryson, Tina Brady, Markley Chaffin accepting fifth for Makala Tidball and Forrest Franklin winners of the low ch & AA Eq. Division.

Jr. & AA Cross rail winners Juliette l’ Anson, Page Cleveland, Kiera Kuy, Campbell Lear accepting the white ribbon for Delaney Rosales and Joyce Noel.

Master of ceremonies, Anne Lorkowski.

Medal Finals & Yr End Hi Pt Trainer Awards L-R Gretchen Clark, Shannon Pagliuso, Janie Steiner, Lorilea Franklin, Nicole Lear and Vickie Rowe.

Mountain View Farms-South riders peaking through the pillars at Santa Anita Park.

Rusty Stirrup winners champion Christina Coulombe, third place Chanel Rhodes and fourth place Jerry Roche.

Walk trot reserve champion Makenna Hull.